Why I read

When I was deciding what to write for today’s blog post I saw that an author who I follow on Facebook, Katie MacAlister, posted to say that it is HarperCollins Publishers 200th anniversary which is impressive to say the least. They asked a whole lot of authors about why they read and here’s the link cause the answers are great: http://200.hc.com/why-i-read/

They’re also asking the public to join in on the hashtags #whyiread and #hc200 @HarperCollins so I thought that I’d give it a go and try to put into words why I read.

I’ve talked a little bit about this before. When I was a kid my parents were always reading to me and the stories ranged from the Famous Five series by Enid Blyton to The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien. (I wonder where my love of fantasy and adventure stories came from? 😉 :p ) If there was a specific book that really made me fall in love with reading, well, I don’t remember it but, I was always surrounded by people who liked to read. When I was small I had this big book which was full of fairytales like Rapunzel and poetry such as The Owl And The Pussycat by Edward Lear and I remember being read to from that a lot. That might’ve actually been one of the first books I started to read by myself.

At school it was pretty cool to be at a high reading level – the books always got more interesting at a higher level. Even my mum tells me that I just always seemed to be surrounded by books. I remember going to the local library a lot during the summer holidays and it was always nice when they did reading challenges because you got stickers as prizes.

At some point when I was a teenager, reading became a way for me to ignore reality for a while. It was practically a form of mediation or maybe it was escapism as I could sit for hours without being disturbed. There are worse things than being the girl who always has her nose in a book.

Now, it’s changed a little again. I still have little situational awareness when I’m really focusing on reading as I’ll happily lose myself in a story but, I don’t use it as a retreat so much anymore. Now, I read because I like to be reminded of all of the stories that haven’t been told yet.

Each story has the potential to show you something new and that constant feeling of discovery is a great reason to keep coming back to the bookshelf.

 

 

Speaking of publishers, today I was also reminded that a year ago I was talking about my project for Spectral Visions Press with my team at the Teaching and Learning Conference being held at Sunderland University. We were still working on the book at the time but the ‘Spectral Visions Press Tarot Collection’ was nearing its final stages. It was definitely a positive experience in public speaking and it was nice to be reminded today that I did that. Volunteering for Spectral Visions Press was such a positive experience overall.

As for my writing, April CampNaNoWriMo finished on Sunday and unfortunately I didn’t reach my target word count but I did write 8,000 words and I was pretty pleased with what I wrote so I’m okay with that. Sometimes it’s more about the quality than the quantity and April was a bit of an odd month.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

