Looking towards Camp NaNoWriMo

April is the first Camp NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) of the year (July is the second camp).

For those who’ve not taken part in NaNoWriMo before: November is the main event with writers from all across the word attempting to write 50,000 words in one month (I’ve never reached that particular goal yet. For some reason November never seems to be a good month for me). It’s all a lot of fun to take part in, but I like the camps.

For the month of April (and July) each writer gets to choose their own word count target from 30 to 1,000,000 (I’ve reached 30,000 before) and it doesn’t matter what you want to write in particular – everyone is welcome. I love the fact that it is non-profit, flexible and so inclusive. During the camps you get the chance to talk to other writers about your projects as you become a part of a ‘cabin’ and I’ve had a lot of fun with it in the past.

I’m not sure what my project this April is going to be. I’ve got a little bit of time to think about it but, when it comes to a challenge like this preparation in advance definitely helps. There are a couple of ideas I’ve been toying with lately, I’ve written the prologues of both, and I’ve spoken to different people about the separate ideas. I like both ideas so I may decide to focus on one of those or maybe I’ll tumble into something new between now and the first of April. It has happened before.

I don’t do the projects every year although I do try because I like the idea but I’m really excited to attempt the challenge in April.

What will my personal target be? Maybe I should pick a project first before deciding on that but I know that I’d like to be ambitious.

If you’d like to give it a go, and you could write anything that you wanted to, the website is here where you can sign up: https://campnanowrimo.org/sign_in

 

In other news, the weather is getting better (the sunshine is so lovely) and I wrote a poem about it as I was walking home yesterday because I could:

Early morning blossom unfolds in its salutation to the sun,
Though the wind chill remains the light is warm.
Greeting the bright days with early morning rising
And I, beside you, whisper of the fruits in the days to come.
The sharp-sweet burst of raspberries on my tongue.
Strawberries dipped in sugar crystals, laid across your lips.
The sticky-sweet juice of nectarines dripping between our fingers as we laugh.
Promises for a future bathed in sunshine.

All of the poems by me from February – 28 poems for 28 days – are typed up here: https://teganstevensonwrites.wordpress.com/february-2017/

 

It is also International Women’s Day today and I hope that it was a good one for everyone.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

