Almost 2017

I hope that you had a nice Christmas.

I had a great day – the food was delicious (thanks mum and dad 🙂 ), my presents were cool and we were all together so I really couldn’t ask for anything more than that.

Books were, of course, some of my presents which included my Secret Santa from work who got me ‘The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window and Disappeared’ by Jonas Jonasson which was a great choice as I’ve been dithering over buying that book for ages. It looks like it’s going to be a good read which I am really looking forward to.

My sister bought me a very pretty copy of ‘The Brothers Grimm Fairytales’ with a beautiful pink and gold hardback cover. Rapunzel has always been my favourite fairy-tale – although I’m not sure I could answer why my younger-self was so enamoured – so the chance to finally read such a famous collection from the brothers who made Rapunzel so well-known will be a treat. This year, I’ve found that I’ve not just been collecting the stories but the attractive covers as well. Aesthetics has somehow become a part of what I look for when purchasing a book.

From my parents I happily received ‘The Night Circus’ by Erin Morgenstern (another book I’ve wanted for a while and I like the new Vintage Classics cover) and ‘Such Stuff: A Story-Maker’s Inspiration’ by Michael Morpurgo and I’m particularly excited about this book because I’ve always loved author’s interviews and hearing about the way stories are born – this may go some way to explaining why I studied English and Creative Writing at university – and the thought of reading about the creative process belonging to one of the finest children’s authors is utterly tantalising. Plus, once again, it has a beautiful hardback cover with an illustration on the cover by the talented Michael Foreman.

When it comes to mainstream fiction I realise that, this year, I haven’t read so much which, you would think, makes it easier to choose a favourite but it still took me a while to decide. I’m going to say that my favourite new read this year was ‘Hunter’s Season’ by Thea Harrison. The story is more of a novella than a novel but I was utterly delighted by the shorter story that was such a beautiful addition to the Elder Races series. I adored that I finally had the chance this year to begin collecting my own copies of the series instead of borrowing them constantly from the local library.

Overall, this year has had it’s fair share of up’s and downs but it’s almost over.

So, whether it is the Apocalypse or just another year – Good Luck for 2017.

Bring on the New Year.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

